11th Rivertown Classic Pairings Drawn

Posted On December 03, 2010

(Rising Sun, Ind.) – Known for providing postseason-type tournament drama in the middle of the high school basketball season, The 11th Annual Rivertown Classic will tip off Jan. 4.


School officials from South Dearborn, Lawrenceburg, Rising Sun, and Switzerland County high schools gathered Thursday in Rising Sun to draw first round pairings.


In both the boys and girls brackets, South Dearborn will wear away uniforms when they take on Rising Sun. The winner of those contests will play either Lawrenceburg or Switzerland County.


All varsity games will be played at South Dearborn High School. Girls first round will be Wednesday, Jan. 4 at 6:00 p.m. followed by boys first round games on Thursday.


Boys and girls consolation games will be played Friday evening beginning at 6:00.


Championship boys and girls contests will take place Saturday with girls going first at 6:00 p.m.


All the boys and girls varsity games will be broadcast live on Eagle 99.3 and webcast at EagleCountryOnline.com.


New this year to the tournament is a junior varsity portion. South Dearborn will play at Rising Sun and Switzerland County will be at Lawrenceburg in first round action on Tuesday, Jan. 4.  Boys and girls championship games will be at Switzerland County High School on Saturday, Jan. 8.


Also new, the all-tournament teams from the first ever Rivertown Classic 2001 will be honored during halftime of the boys and girls championship contests Saturday.


Former boys players from that year being recognized include Chris Denning (Lawrenceburg, MVP), Clint May (Switzerland County), Brandon Gabbard (South Dearborn), Dustin York (Rising Sun), Casey Moreillon (Lawrenceburg). Current Rising Sun varsity boys coach B.J. McAlister was also on that all-tourney team.


Girls players earning the honor during the inaugural tourney were Tracey Beer (Switzerland County, MVP), Chastity Hunt (Switzerland County), Stephanie Thompson (Rising Sun), Ashley Kinnett (South Dearborn), Mandy Schmahl (South Dearborn), and Mallory Holdcraft (Lawrenceburg).


Other festivities during the holiday tournament include the traditional cheer competition.