20 Boone Co. Students Are Governor’s Scholars

Posted On June 11, 2012

(Boone County, Ky.) – Twenty local high school students are being recognized as Kentucky Governor’s Scholars: Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders.


The Kentucky Governor’s Scholars Program is a summer residential program for outstanding high school students in Kentucky who are rising seniors, the Boone County Schools district reported in its June newsletter.


The Program originated in 1983 as a result of Kentucky leaders’ concern that the state’s “best and brightest” were leaving the Commonwealth to pursue educational and career opportunities elsewhere without fully understanding the potential of their talents at home.


Students from each of Boone County’s four high schools have been selected for the program. Twelve of them are from Ryle High School: Julie Beck, Emma Costello, Meghan Eleniak, Alana Gale, Sydney Gebka, Jasmine Gentry, Emily Gonzales, Samuel Kirby, Allison Pinkston, Mary Schmalzl, Mitchell See and Kelly Tursic.


From Boone County High School, Jenna Abbott, Rose Elmore, Lauren McQueary, Valerie Rice and Nicole Wheeler were selected.


Also, Conner High School seniors to be Brandon Jump and Ranae Nelson along with Cooper High School’s Morgan Restaino, Andrea Thompson and Austin Ulerick.


Students who are selected attend the program without charge.