Candidates File For Local Offices

Posted On February 16, 2012

Indiana Votes 2012
(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – The deadline has passed for political candidates to file for office in Indiana.


Friday at noon was the latest local candidates could file at their county clerk’s office. State and national office candidates had to file with the Secretary of State in Indianapolis.


The candidates who met the deadline will appear on their party’s ballot in the May 8 primary election.


In 2012, the Indiana Sixth District Congressional District has been redrawn to include all of Dearborn, Ohio, Ripley, and Switzerland counties, which were formerly in the Ninth District.


Republicans hoping to succeed Mike Pence as Sixth District U.S. Congressman Don Bates, Jr., Bill Frazier, Travis Hankins, Luke Messer, Joe Sizemore, and Joseph S. Van Wye, Sr. Democrats seeking the Sixth Congressional District seat will include Dan Bolling, Bradley T.  Bookout, Jim Crone, Susan Hall Heitzman, and George T. Holland.


District 68 State Rep. Jud McMillin (R-Brookville) will be unopposed in the May primary. The same could occur in the November general election because no Democrats had filed by Friday, although the party could later caucus to select a candidate.


District 67 State Rep. Randy Frye (R-Greensburg) faces the same scenario as Jud McMillin – no primary challenger. However, former Dearborn County Councilman Tom Cheek, of Aurora, filed as a Democrat on Friday in the district, setting up a possible November showdown. Cheek plans a formal announcement of his candidacy on Monday, February 13 at 10:00 a.m. at the Aurora Public Library.


Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg) filed to run for re-election in Senate District 42. No Democrat filed there as of Friday.


In State House District 69, Democrats Jim McCormick and Trent Whishner will battle it out to decide which candidate faces Republican Jim Lucas, who will be unopposed in May.  The seat is being vacated by State Rep. Dave Cheatham (D-North Vernon) who announced last month he would not seek re-election.


Here is a list of local filings in Dearborn, Ohio, Ripley, and Switzerland counties:




Clerk of Courts

D – Rudy M. Howard, Jr.

R – Rick Probst


County Commissioner District 1

D – Philip “Flippy” Darling

R – Kevin J. Lynch


County Commissioner District 2

D – Tom Orschell

R – Arthur Little


County Coroner

R – Steven Callahan

R – Sue Dudgeon

R – William Bill Steiner

R – Michael Walterman


County Council At-Large

R – Maynard Barrett

R – Charles D. Keyes

R – Randy Lyness

R – Bill Ullrich


County Surveyor

R – Dennis Kraus, Jr.

R – Roger Woodfill


County Treasurer

R – Barbara J. Kaffenberger

R – Phillip D. Weaver


Dillsboro Town Council District 3

D – David “Woody” Fryman


Dillsboro Town Council District 4

R – Andrew J. Seaver






Clerk of Courts

R – Annie Jo (Keith) Jackson


County Commissioner District 2

R – Shane Koons


County Commissioner District 3

R – Connie J. Brown


County Council At-Large

D – Mark A. Guard

R – Tammy Elbright

R – April Hautman


County Treasurer

D – Betty (Nixon) Cosby

R – Yvonne Walton






Clerk of Courts

R – David Forwalt

R – Mary A. McCoy


County Commissioner District 2

R – Joseph W. Peace

R – Mark E. Busching


County Commissioner District 3

R – Gerald M. Stutler


County Coroner

R – Ronald A. Buchanan


County Council At-Large

D – William H. Dramann

R – Mark A. Horstman

R – William Warren

R – Brenda S. Wetzler

R – David C. Simon

R – Paul J. Morris


County Recorder

R – Ginger J. Bradford


County Treasurer

R – Amy R. Copeland


Holton Clerk-Treasurer

R – Gretchen N. Moore


Holton Town Council

R – Andrew J. Stratton

R – Angela M. Farrell

R – Paul L. Hughes


Osgood Clerk-Treasurer

R – Tamara L. Wilhoit


Osgood Town Council

D – Vickie D. Holliday






County Commissioner District 1

D – Billy Hoskins

D – Dennis M. Cole

R – John Haskell

R – Brian Morton


County Commissioner District 2

D – Jeffrey Lieland

D – Steve Lyons


County Coroner

D – Lewis Fritter

D – Jeremiah Haynes


County Council At-Large

D – Steve Crabtree

D – Darrell Hansel

D – Mark Powell

D – Rachel Schuler

R – Terry Hall

R – Elizabeth Jones

R – Richard Lay, Sr.


County Recorder

D – Darla McAlister


County Surveyor

R – Brian McAllister


County Treasurer

D – Vickie James