Candidates Filing For May 6 Primary Election

Posted On January 30, 2014

By Mike Perleberg

indiana-votes-2014-graphic-300px-01302014(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – The May 6 primary ballots for political offices throughout southeast Indiana are getting full.

Candidates have until February 7th to file for election. Some have filed ahead of the deadline.


Senate District 43

Perfect North Slopes owner Chip Perfect was the first to announce his candidacy in Indiana Senate District 43 in December. He received the immediate endorsement of outgoing and longtime State Senator Johnny Nugent (R-Lawrenceburg).

Perfect will face a Republican primary challenge from Mark Schneider, who filed Monday according to the Indiana Secretary of State’s roster of primary election candidates. Also, Aurora resident Rudy Howard filed Monday to seek the Democrat nomination in Senate District 43.

A Columbus resident, the 27-year-old Schneider is a teacher in the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation.

Howard, who ran unsuccessfully for Dearborn County Clerk of Courts in 2012, said he will focus on making the middle class and education a priority again.

“As your Senator, I will work with Glenda Ritz to address the challenges and opportunities that face Hoosier students, teachers, and schools,” Howard states on his campaign website.


Senate District 27

The district was redrawn in 2012 to include northern Dearborn County as well as central and eastern Franklin County. Senator Allen Paul (R-Richmond) announced last November he won’t seek re-election for the seat he held for 27 years.

So far, four Republicans have filed in an attempt to fill the vacancy. They are Eric Atkinson, Jeff Raatz, Doug Williamson, and R. Bruce Wissel.

No Democrat candidates have filed, yet.


House District 68

Incumbent Republican State Representative Jud McMillin’s name had been noticeably absent from the primary filings as of Tuesday, but the second-term representative filed on Wednesday. McMillin (R-Brookville) said his busy schedule during the current legislative session kept him from filing earlier for re-election in House District 68.

Fellow Franklin County resident Rick Gill is seeking the district’s Democrat nomination. The retired Indiana State Police trooper announced in November he would run and filed early on January 14.

Neither candidate has a primary challenger as of Wednesday.


House District 67

State Rep. Randy Frye (R-Greensburg) will look for his third election in House District 67, running unopposed in the Republican primary and no Democrat challenger for November. He filed January 8.


Dearborn County

The Dearborn County Commissioner District 3 race will be contested, at least in November. Incumbent Republican Shane McHenry has filed for re-election. He’ll be challenged in the general election by Democrat Aaron Watson, assuming no new candidates file for the primary in the next eight days.

County Council races are filling up, though there are currently no contested primary races. For Democrats, Andrew Addison will seek District 1, Dan Lansing in District 2, and Greendale Police officer Kevin Turner in District 3.

Republican County Council candidates that have filed include three incumbents: Liz Morris in District 1, Maynard Barrett in District 3, and Dennis Kraus in District 4.

Dearborn-Ohio County Prosecutor Aaron Negangard has filed for re-election. Judge Jonathan Cleary will seek re-election to the bench in Dearborn Superior Court I.

Dearborn County Sheriff Mike Kreinhop will seek a second four years at the helm of the sheriff’s department. Democrats have not put up a candidate against him.

Other Dearborn County primary election filings can be found at http://www.dearborncounty.org/Government/Election-and-Voter-Information/Candidate-Slate-for-2014-Primary-Election.