EC Trojan Academic Team Captures Conference, Looks Forward To Academic Super Bowl

Posted On December 08, 2017

By Mike Perleberg

The East Central High School athletic team won the conference championship on Monday, December 4. Photo courtesy of Andrew Jackson, Sunman-Dearborn Community Schools.

(St. Leon, Ind.) – The wiz kids on East Central High School’s academic team have proved themselves to be the best in the conference.

EC won the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference academic team meet held Monday at Greensburg High School. East Central won with 244.7 points. Second place went to South Dearborn High School with 166.12 points and Lawrenceburg was third with 154.28.

With the win, East Central brings back the conference banner to be displayed in the high school until the next meet, says academic team coach Tim Maluvac.

Students from seven conference school competed in subjects including math, English, science, social studies, and fine arts. Each school can have a team of up to nine students in each subject.

“When a round starts we have five students sitting at a table in a specific discipline, such as science and they will all work together to answer 15 multiple choice questions that could be taken from anytime during the last 5,000 years. So, questions for science could range from the studies of the advancements in science of the ancient Greeks to gene therapy,” Maluvac explains.

After Christmas break, East Central and other Indiana high school teams will begin competing in the state Academic Super Bowl. All schools are given a theme to study, which this year will be World War I.

“We have recently been the most successful in English.  Two years ago we won state in English and last year we placed third.  East Central competes in the class with the largest school in the state,” Maluvac said.

Maluvac coaches the East Central academic team with fellow teachers Nathan Oehlman and Marcie Trossman.

East Central academic team members are Ali Bailey, Tara Barnett, Jenna Bennett, Austin Berkemeier, Clayton Deitsch, Julia Driggers, Libby Durham, Lacy Engleking, Paige Gindling, Molly Graham, Emily Harrington, Joey Hartman, Sydney Hornberger, Kyla Isaacs, Alex Ketcham, Jackie Ketcham, Jackson Ketcham, Jacob Kichler, Natalie Kuhn, Rachel Kuhn, Abby Lepper, Sophia Lubic, Joe McCann, Luke Montazemi, Keegan Moster, Oliver Moster, Jayna Pennington, Sophia Pennington, Makela Plymale, Dylan Schutte, Kaitlyn Schuman, Madison Shumate, Danielle Velazquez, and  Hannah Weiler.