ECHS’ Knueven Earns Naval Academy Nomination

Posted On January 09, 2014

By Mike Perleberg


Nathan Knueven provided

Nathan Knueven

(St. Leon, Ind.) – An East Central High School student has been nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy.


Nathan Knueven received the nomination to the prestigious academy in Annapolis, Maryland on Tuesday from Indiana Senator Joe Donnelly. He and the other nominees were selected for their essays, academic records, letters of recommendation, community involvement, character, and leadership experience.


“It is a great privilege to have the opportunity to nominate these outstanding young Hoosiers to our nation’s service academies,” said Donnelly. “If accepted, these young men and women will receive a top-quality education and will be prepared for successful careers as officers in our military. I want to thank everyone who applied for their desire to serve our country.”


A congressional nomination does not guarantee Knueven or the other nominees of admission to an academy. The final decision will be made by the academy itself following a “whole-person” evaluation that considers a candidate’s character, scholarship, leadership, physical aptitude, medical fitness, goals, and motivation.


Nathan is the son of Kevin and Mary Knueven of Guilford.


The following is Sen. Donnelly’s full list of service academy nominations:


Military Academy
Gabrielle Alford, Carmel
Derek Biega, Newburgh
William Brooks, Carmel
Kian Geraghty, Columbus
Cole Highum, Carmel
Sarah Nakata, Indianapolis
Lauren Stazinski, Valparaiso
Ryan Tucker, Yorktown
Karol Wegrzyn, Indianapolis
Mitchell Winey, Chesterton


Naval Academy
Emanuel Beer, Leo
Zachary Davis, Granger
John Dever, Bargersville
Patrick Iafrato, Carmel
Nathan Knueven, Lawrenceburg
Julie Martin, Mooresville
John Morrison, Bloomington
Christopher Rath, Crown Point
Jackson Sugar, Zionsville
Ethan Whitaker, Chesterton


Air Force Academy
Timothy Bernier, Nineveh
John Cox, Shelbyville
Ben Delaney, Charlestown
Sean Hall, Marion
Grant Huffman, Columbus
Garrett McKenna, Indianapolis
Shawn Owen, Indianapolis
Hannah Park, Edinburgh
Alondra Rojas, Indianapolis
Jack Weldon, Camby


Merchant Marine Academy
Tanner Cook, Floyds Knobs
Zachary Kanczuzewski, South Bend
Spencer Ragsdale, Culver
Christian Wittendorf, Granger