Former Ivy Tech SE Chancellor Honored By Chamber

Posted On January 31, 2014

Press release from Ivy Tech Community College Southeast

Jim Helms provided

Jim Helms

(Batesville, Ind.) – Ivy Tech Community College Southeast Chancellor Emeritus Jim Helms was honored Thursday night at the annual Batesville, Indiana Chamber of Commerce Dinner and Awards Banquet.  The event was held at the Batesville Knights of Columbus facility and was attended by several hundred area residents.

Helms led efforts to enhance postsecondary education in Batesville, evidenced by the May 14, 2013 dedication of a new Ivy Tech campus, the Hillenbrand Family Education Center.  In addition Helms developed partnerships with Batesville High School and with area businesses and industries.  A unique Ivy Tech/Batesville High School partnership is serving as an educational model and has been lauded by Governor Mike Pence and by Indiana Commissioner of Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

In acknowledgement of the chamber recognition Helms said collectively Ivy Tech and the community have accomplished “good things” that will benefit the area now and in future years.

Helms retired January 15, 2014 as Chancellor of Ivy Tech Southeast, having served fifty-one years in secondary and postsecondary education.  As Chancellor Emeritus he will remain active with Ivy Tech as a member of the College’s Foundation Board of Directors and, in coordination with the College’s Office of the President, by being involved as a liaison with some special initiatives in the Southeast region.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana.  It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its communities. In addition, its courses and programs transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana.  Ivy Tech Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association.

Ivy Tech Southeast serves Jefferson, Dearborn, Ripley, Ohio and Switzerland Counties in Indiana as well as the bordering areas of northern Kentucky and Cincinnati, Ohio.  Ivy Tech Southeast has campuses at Madison and Lawrenceburg and an instructional site at Batesville.