Ind. Department Of Education Releases 2016-17 School Accountability Grades

Posted On October 04, 2017

By Travis Thayer

(Indianapolis, Ind.) – School accountability grades are on the rise in the Hoosier state.

The Indiana Department of Education released its 2016-17 A-F school accountability grades for school corporations on Wednesday.

Nearly 25 percent of schools improved one or more letter grade, with close to six percent improving their letter grade to an A. Overall, 62 percent of schools received an A or B.

“I am encouraged by the results of our current accountability grades as an indication of the great education Indiana students are receiving,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction “Our work, however, is not finished. As a Department we will continue to partner with stakeholders from the state level to the local community to ensure every school is successful and every student is academically prepared for the future.”

To view the 2016-17 School Accountability Grades, please visit: www.doe.in.gov/accountability/find-school-and-corporation-data-reports.

Local scores can be seen below:


(School corporation, schools, grades (2016-17, 2015-16)

Sunman-Dearborn Community School Corporation – North Dearborn Elementary (B, B), Sunman Middle (A, B), Bright Elementary (C, B), Sunman Elementary (C, B), East Central High (A, A).

South Dearborn Community School Corporation – Dillsboro Elementary (B, A), Manchester Elementary (B, B), Moores Hill Elementary (B, B), South Dearborn Middle (C, C), South Dearborn High (C, B), Aurora Elementary (B, D).

Lawrenceburg Community School Corporation- Lawrenceburg High (A, B), Greendale Middle (B, B), Central Elementary (B, B), Lawrenceburg Primary (B, B).

Franklin County Community School Corporation – Laurel School (D, C), Franklin County High (B, B), Brookville Middle (C, B), Brookville Elementary (A, A), Mt. Carmel School (B, B).

South Ripley School Corporation – South Ripley Jr. High (A, B), South Ripley Elementary (B, A), South Ripley High (C, B).

Batesville Community School Corporation – Batesville High (A, A), Batesville Primary (B, B), Batesville Middle (A, B), Batesville Intermediate (B, B). 

Jac-Cen-Del Community School Corporation – Jac-Cen-Del Middle/High (B, C), JCD Elementary (B, A).

Milan Community Schools – Milan High (B, B), Milan Middle (D, C), Milan Elementary (B, C).

Switzerland County School Corporation – Jefferson-Craig Elementary (C, B), Switzerland Co. Middle (D, B), Switzerland Co. High (B, B), Switzerland Co. Elementary (D, C).

Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation – Ohio County Elementary (D, C), Ohio County Middle (A, A), Rising Sun High School (A, B).