Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay Routes Revealed

Posted On March 28, 2016

By Mike Perleberg

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – Get fired up! The Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay’s path through southeast Indiana has been unveiled.

The Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay route touches:

  • 260 cities and towns.
  • 17 state and national parks, including Indiana Dunes, Turkey Run, Falls of the Ohio and Abraham Lincoln’s Boyhood Home.
  • Nine lakes and rivers, including the Ohio and Wabash Rivers.
  • 27 national, state and local sites of historic significance including the Levi Coffin House, Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site and Lanier Mansion.
  • 22 colleges and universities.
  • Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum, Bridgeton Mill, Conner Prairie, Evansville Museum of Arts, History & Science, French Lick Resort, Holiday World, Indiana High School Basketball Hall of Fame, Indiana State Soldiers and Sailors Monument, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Lew Wallace Study and Museum, NSA Crane and many additional landmarks and destinations.

The bicentennial torch will visit 260 cities and towns in all 92 Indiana counties when the relay starts September 9th and runs through October 15th. Its 2,300-mile route was shared Friday by Indiana Lieutenant Governor Eric Holcomb.

“The Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay is not only the premier event of our state’s Bicentennial Celebration, but it is also an opportunity for Hoosiers from counties large and small to showcase all that makes Indiana unique,” said Holcomb. “The torch route was designed to highlight the state’s cultural fabric, our history and values, and the spirit of Hoosier ingenuity, igniting generations to come.”

The torch will pass through local burbs including Aurora, Greendale, Dillsboro, Versailles, Milan, Rising Sun, Batesville, Brookville, and Vevay – among many others. The torch caravan will make an overnight stop in Lawrenceburg on September 17 before taking off for Franklin County the following morning.

You can view local counties’ relay routes in the maps below.

Dates for the local torch relays are as follows:


Saturday, September 17

Switzerland County 9:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m.

Ohio County 10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.

Ripley County 12:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Dearborn County 5:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.


Sunday, September 18

Franklin County 12:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m.


Developed by Indiana Office of Tourism Development, is designed to connect Hoosiers across the state and nation with their home state during the 2016 bicentennial year.

The torch itself was designed by engineering faculty and students at Purdue University. The torch will be primarily transported by people, passing the flame from torch bearer to torch bearer. The relay will also employ other modes of conveyance that are symbolic of the history and heritage of Indiana, including watercraft, farm equipment, a racecar, horse and wagon, antique automobile and others.

More events and happenings connected to Indiana’s 200th anniversary of statehood can be found at VisitIndiana200.com.