Jeff-Craig Fire Chief Christopher See Named 2017 EMS Of The Year

Posted On July 26, 2017

Press release by the American Legion Department of Indiana

Christopher See (center) accepts the 2017 EMS of the Year Award from Northern Vice Commander Nick Nicholoff. Also pictured (right)  James May, Commander of the American Legion Department of Indiana. Photo provided.

(Indianapolis, Ind.) – The votes are in and The American Legion, Department of Indiana’s 9th District has named Vevay resident, Christopher See the 2017 EMS of the Year.

“American Legion officers selected See because of his outstanding service to his community and country in the medical field,” said 9th District Cmdr. Roger Hilligoss.

See began his career in the medical field in 1995 when he started as a Junior Firefighter/Cadet in Switzerland County, Indiana.  Shortly after, he enlisted in the Air Force National Guard where he served 6 years as an Aircraft Rescue Firefighter/EMT.

While serving in the National Guard, See was deployed to New Orleans in 2005 to assist with relief from the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.  He also served a deployment to Kirkuk, Iraq.

In 2012, he was elected to serve as Fire Chief of Jeff-Craig Fire and Rescue.

The American Legion, Department of Indiana honors local heroes in the fields of military service, law enforcement, firefighters, emergency medical services, and educators every year in communities across Indiana. Learn more at www.indianalegion.org.

The American Legion is comprised of more than 77,000 military service veterans who have served honorably during times of conflict in defense of their nation and has been active within Indiana since 1919. The Indiana American Legion has represented veterans from every major conflict since World War II to Iraq and Afghanistan within its membership.

If you have any questions, please contact the Indiana Legion Communications Director Tim Sproles at 317-403-6266 or by email at communications@indlegion.org