Local Sports Report – January 5 & 6

Posted On January 08, 2018

Please report missing scores to 888-537-9724 or email sports -at- eaglecountryonline.com.





East Central 46, Rushville 26 – Kayla Maxwell scored 13 points for EC, while grabbing 9 rebounds, taking 4 steals, and making 5 assists.

Oldenburg Academy 58, Shawe Memorial 12




Rivertown Classic

Championship – Lawrenceburg 52, South Dearborn 42 – Eagle Country 99.3 Feature Game – Juliana Kemper scored 15 points and Makena White had 13 to help lead Lawrenceburg to a second straight Rivertown championship. Kyrstin Bond led South Dearborn with 19 points and Brooke Huddleston scored 14.

Consolation – Rising Sun 52, Switzerland County 45 – Eagle Country 99.3 Feature Game – Lucy Carrigan starred for Rising Sun with 30 points, setting a new single-game and tournament record with a total of 54 points in two games.

All-Tournament Team: Lawrenceburg’s Juliana Kemper was the tournament MVP. Making the all-tourney team were Lawrenceburg’s Makena White, South Dearborn’s Kyrstin Bond and Brooke Huddleston, Rising Sun’s Lucy Carrigan, and Switzerland County’s Aleiah Thomas.


Ripley County Tournament

Championship – South Ripley 51, Batesville 48 – South Ripley won its first Ripley County Tournament girls title since 2012. Elexah Roepke led the Raiders with 13 points and Toria Tucker scored 12. Batesville was led by Hattie Westerfeld with 17 points, 9 rebounds, and 2 steals.

Consolation – Jac-Cen-Del 81, Milan 49 – Lilly Simon poured in 33 points for Jac-Cen-Del while Mariah Day scored 25.

All-Tournament Team: South Ripley’s Julie Rea was named the tournament MVP. Other all-tournament team players included South Ripley’s Elexah Roepke, Kiley Sparks, and Toria Tucker; Batesville’s Baylee Rohlfing, Ellie Waechter, and Hattie Westerfeld; Jac-Cen-Del’s Lily Simon and Mariah Day; and Milan’s Courtney Bruns.


Oldenburg Academy 53, Shawe Memorial 34






Rivertown Classic

Championship – Lawrenceburg 54, South Dearborn 45 – Eagle Country 99.3 Feature Game – Curtis White led Lawrenceburg to the program’s fourth Rivertown Classic championship with 20 points, 5 rebounds, and 2 assists. Gavin Yoon scored 12 for LHS. South Dearborn’s John Tedesco played well with 17 points, 3 boards, and 3 assists.

Consolation – Switzerland County 78, Rising Sun 64 – Eagle Country 99.3 Feature Game – Rising Sun had five players score in double figures: Trenton Gridley with 15, Jason McClellan with 12, Nick Koons with 11, and Jacob Bovard and Brent Turner with 10 each.

All-Tournament Team: Lawrenceburg’s Curtis White was selected as the Rivertown Classic MVP. Also on the all-tournament team were Lawrenceburg’s Gavin Yoon and Jason Morton; South Dearborn’s John Tedesco; and Switzerland County’s Austin South and Kyle Whitham.


Ripley County Tournament

Championship – Batesville 58, Jac-Cen-Del 33

Consolation – Milan 72, South Ripley 48 – Joel Norman paced Milan with 17 points. Dylan McQueen led the Raiders with a 20-point performance.

All-Tournament Team: Batesville’s Isaac Barker was named the Most Valuable Player. Other all-tourney team selections include Batesville’s Robert Raver, Austin Siefert and Colton Meyer; Jac-Cen-Del’s Conner Hubbard and Brandon Baber; Milan’s Austin King and Zac Minnich; and South Ripley’s Avery Halcomb and Dylan McQueen.


Union County 57, Franklin County 52 – Hunter Mayfield led the way for Franklin County with a double-double of 20 points and 11 rebounds.

Oldham County (Ky.) 70, Oldenburg Academy 38




East Central 38, Rushville 32

Oldenburg Academy 53, Seton Catholic 28




East Central Reclaims Boys, Girls EIAC Titles

The East Central AquaTrojans celebrated the new year with a pair of Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference championships Saturday. The annual conference meet took place at South Dearborn High School in Aurora.

The East Central girls’ 319 points was better than second place Greensburg’s 271. Connersville was third (245), Batesville fourth (179), South Dearborn fifth (108), and Lawrenceburg sixth (71). EC’s Alexis DeLong was named EIAC MVP for the fourth time, sharing the honor with teammate Grace Cane.

The Trojan boys amassed 355.5 points. Connersville was second (284), Greensburg third (205), South Dearborn fourth (143), Lawrenceburg fifth (103.5), and Batesville sixth (98). Conference MVPs for the boys were East Central’s Alex Ketcham, Jackson Ketcham, Jacob Weber, and Connersville’s Zane Spurlock. Jackson Ketcham set a new conference record in the 200 Freestyle – 1:47.38 to beat former EC swimmer Derek Roth’s record time of 1:49.89.

EC coach Brandon Loveless says East Central conference champions included:

Girls 200 Medley Relay: (Kyra Hall, Alexis deLong, Grace Crane, Olivia Nixon)

Boys 200 Medley Relay: (Jacob Weber, Klay Shipman, Jackson Ketcham, Alex Ketcham)

Boys 200 Freestyle: Jackson Ketcham

Girls 200 IM: Alexis deLong

Boys 200 IM: Alex Ketcham

Girls 1 meter diving: Aly Bailey

Girls 100 Butterfly: Grace Crane

Boys 100 Butterfly: Jacob Weber

Girls 100 Freestyle: Alexis deLong

Girls 500 Freestyle: Grace Crane

Boys 500 Freestyle: Jackson Ketcham

Girls 100 Backstroke: Kyra Hall

Boys 100 Backstroke: Jacob Weber

Boys 100 Breaststroke: Alex Ketcham

Girls 400 Freestyle Relay (Ashley Bortlein, Grace Crane, Mackenzie Schantz, Alexis deLong)

Boys 400 Freestyle Relay (Jackson Ketcham, Matthew Badinghaus, Ethen Witte, Jacob Weber)