Local Students Earn Merit Scholarships

Posted On May 24, 2012

(Undated) – Five area students have won a prestigious scholarship that goes to only a few thousand students nationwide each year.


The National Merit Scholarships are sponsored by 117 private and 80 public institutions in 45 states and the District of Columbia. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation provides between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.


Only about 8,300 high school seniors will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $35 million.


Here are the five local students awarded with the scholarship, the school sponsoring them, and their planned field of study:


Lawrenceburg homeschooler Joshua Orndorff, Texas A&M University, computer science


Harrison High School – Michelle Bell, University of Kentucky, pharmacy


Ryle High School – Erin Deja, University of Kentucky, pharmacy


Grant County High School – Cory Gray, University of Kentucky, computer science


Walton homeschooler Michael Butler, University of Kentucky, law