Milan’s Walter Is Ripley County Lilly Scholar

Posted On April 10, 2012

Nicholas Walter (second from left) is awarded the Ripley County Community Foundation’s 2012 Lilly Endowment Scholarship.


Press release from the Ripley County Community Foundation


(Ripley County, Ind.) – One Ripley County student has been named recipient of a full tuition, four-year scholarship as the Ripley County Community Foundation 2012 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.


Nicholas Walter will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of his choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.


Nicholas is the son of Kevin and Brenda Walter of Sunman. He is a senior at Milan High School and plans to major in Biology and Chemistry (double major) at University of Notre Dame.


The RCCF scholarship committee is composed of Ripley County residents representing all areas of the county.  The committee is not aware of whose application they are viewing as names and schools of students applying for the scholarships are removed from the applications.  At the interviews of the finalists, the students are only introduced by their first names, allowing for as much objectivity as possible.


There were 54 applicants for this award in Ripley County this year drawing from six high schools.  Five outstanding students were chosen as finalists for these prestigious awards.  After theRipley County Community Foundationscholarship committee narrowed the field to five nominees, the finalists’ applications were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the recipients.


ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.


The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.  Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree.  There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.


Each Ripley County finalist not receiving the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship will be awarded one of the Ripley County Community Scholarships of $1,500.  Those receiving the 2012Ripley County Community FoundationScholarships are Alexander Dodge, Jac-Cen-Del High School, son of Clinton and Jennifer Dodge of Osgood; Lydia Ertel, Milan High School, daughter of William Ertel and Cathy Ertel of Milan; Austin Frey, Oldenburg Academy, son of James and Betty Frey of Batesville; and Courtney Smith, Jac-Cen-Del High School, daughter of Dan and Denise Smith of Osgood.