MVPs Martini, Sharpshair, Ripperger Lead EIAC Boys Soccer All-Conference

Posted On December 07, 2017

By Mike Perleberg

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – East Central’s Nick Martini, Lawrenceburg’s Kyle Sharpshair, and Batesville’s Michael Ripperger were the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference’s best during the 2017 boys soccer season.

The three were named the most valuable players in boys soccer by Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference coaches this week. Martini, a senior midfielder for the Trojans, and Sharpshair, a senior goalkeeper for the Tigers, were named EIAC Defensive Co-MVPs.

Martini had a great season as conference champion East Central’s defensive stopper. Due in large part to his presence, EC opponents had a total of just 13 shots on goal all season. Martini also scored a goal and had two assists.

Lawrenceburg’s Kyle Sharpshair was a wall in the net during the 2017 season. He allowed less than a dozen goals in 19 games.

Ripperger, a junior striker for the Bulldogs, earned recognition as the EIAC Offensive MVP. He kicked 19 goals for the second-place Bulldogs, in addition to four assists. Eight of his goals were game winners.

Martini’s coach, B.J. Black, was named the conference’s Coach of the Year. He guided the Trojans to a 13-6 overall record which included a perfect 7-0 conference mark. Black’s team placed more players on the all-conference team than any other school.

The full Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference 2017 Boys Soccer All-Conference Team is listed below:


East Central 7-0

Nathan Weis

Jared Tiemann

Evan Spangler

Nick Martini (Co-Defensive MVP)

Tyler Koelling

Peyton Wilhelm


Batesville 6-1

Michael Ripperger (Offensive MVP)

Nate Slavin

Justin Puente

Salvador Blanco

Henry Lipinski


 Connersville 5-2

Peyton Keaffaber

Dalton Lee

Cole Garrison

Arman Angeles


 Lawrenceburg 4-3

Kyle Sharshair (Co-Defensive MVP)

Elliot Reinshagen

CJ Nutley


South Dearborn 3-4

Tyler Morehead

Charlie Tedesco


Rushville 2-5   

Bryson Medley

Isaac Chastain


Franklin County 2-5

Alex Hedges

Kyle Grubb


Greensburg 0-7

Joseph Pacilio


Team Champs: East Central

Coach: B.J. Black