Orndorff, McCory Are Dearborn Co. Lilly Scholarship Winners

Posted On April 02, 2014

Press release from the Dearborn Community Foundation

Baxter McCory provided

Baxter McCory

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – Two Dearborn County high school seniors recently learned they are the recipients of a prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship (LECS). The Dearborn Community Foundation (DCF) awarded the full-tuition scholarships to Lawrenceburg High School’s Alex Orndorff and East Central High School’s Baxter McCory.

The Foundation staff and members of the board of directors and the scholarship committee notified the 2014 LECS recipients and their families during surprise visits on Monday evening, March 31. Orndorff and McCory receive four-year, full-tuition scholarships to the Indiana college of their choice along with an $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

“The purpose of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program is to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana and to further leverage the ability of Indiana’s community foundations to enhance the quality of life of the state’s residents,” said Fred McCarter, Executive Director of DCF.

Alex Orndorff provided

Alex Orndorff

“Alex and Baxter are fine young men who were selected among an excellent group of applicants for the high honor of receiving the Lilly scholarships,” McCarter said. “Our community should be very proud of these two honor students and the other four finalists for this prestigious award.”

Orndorff of Lawrenceburg is the son of Suzanne Orndorff. He plans to attend Ball State or Purdue University to study Veterinarian Medicine. At LHS, he served as class president for two years and was a Boys State Delegate along with being a member of the National Honors Society and French Club. Orndorff also was Academic All-State and All-County during four years as a football player as LHS. He also played basketball all four years in high school. Orndorff even found the time to complete a significant number of hours as a volunteer with Big Brothers/Big Sisters, at the Lawrenceburg Veterinarian Clinic and as Youth Bowling Ambassador and Math Peer Tutor.

McCory of Jackson Township is the son of Monica and Monty McCory. He plans to attend Indiana University to study Biology. At ECHS, he was a member of the student council all four years, including serving as student body president his senior year. He was also a member of the National Honors Society, Academic Team, Spanish Club, Drama Club, Junior Statesmen of America and TOP Mentors. McCory also served his community as a volunteer: Special Olympics; City Gospel Mission; North Dearborn Pantry; Penntown Food Pantry; ECHS Homecoming; ECHS Snowball; and Sunman Chamber of Commerce. McCory also participated in track and field and cross country at East Central three of his four years in high school, earning a Trojan Award twice.

DCF administers the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship (LECS) Program in Dearborn County for Indianapolis-based Lilly Endowment, Inc. A five-member scholarship committee and the DCF staff annually review each application during Phase I of the scholarship process. During Phase I, committee members know applicants only by a number assigned to them. Each committee member assigns scores to each applicant based on an essay written to address a specific question. DCF assigns additional scores based on financial need, cumulative academic scores (includes SAT, ACT & GPA), and number of family dependents.

Based on the highest total scores during Phase I of the process, six Lilly finalists are chosen. In late February, the finalists complete Phase II of the selection process, which consists of a personal interview, including a PowerPoint presentation to the scholarship committee and writing an impromptu essay on a specific topic.

The scholarship committee then selects two nominees to receive the two scholarships allotted to Dearborn County, based on highest cumulative scores from Phase II of the scholarship process. The Foundation board of directors approves the two nominees and the nominees’ information is then sent to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI), a non-profit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, non-profit, private colleges and universities in the state. The ICI Selection Committee, made up of Indiana public and private college representatives, community foundation members and graduate scholarship recipients, reviews the nominations and forwards its endorsement to DCF in late March.

The four remaining LECS finalists are recognized as 2014 Dearborn Community Foundation Scholarship recipients. Each student receives a $1,000 educational grant paid directly to the student’s school. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years of secondary education at the college or university of the student’s choice. The Foundation is pleased to award the 2014 DCF scholarships to: Ericka Burchfield, East Central High School; Chris McNally, Lawrenceburg High School; Nichole Flaspohler, Oldenburg High School; and Andrew Bruner, South Dearborn High School.