Orschell, Yocum, Parris, Heidlage Are 2017 EIAC Football MVP’s

Posted On December 05, 2017

By Mike Perleberg

Mitchell Orschell of Franklin County was the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference’s 4A Division Offensive Most Valuable Player. Photo courtesy Franklin County Athletics.

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – Franklin County’s Mitchell Orschell led the state in rushing yards during his senior season, so it’s no surprise that he has been named the 2017 Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference 4A Division Offensive Most Valuable Player.

The EIAC’s 2017 All-Conference Teams were announced Monday. The conferences’ coaches nominated players from their teams, with the MVPs receiving the most votes.

Orschell amassed 2,654 rush yards and 41 touchdowns this past season. Both figures are the most of any individual in the state last year.

Tanner Yocum, the linebacker who anchored the defense on 4A State Champion East Central, was named the conference’s 4A Defensive MVP. Yocum had 85 tackles, 10 tackles for loss, 3 sacks, and an interception for the Trojans as a senior.

In the 3A Division, Lawrenceburg’s all-state linebacker, Mason Parris, was chosen as the EIAC 3A Division MVP. Parris recorded 151 tackles, six sacks, and an interception in leading the Tigers to a sectional championship. He was named one of the Indiana Football Coaches Association’s Top 50 players for 2017.

The 3A Offensive MVP honor went to Batesville quarterback Trey Heidlage. Only a junior, Heidlage completed 64 percent of his 194 pass attempts this season for a conference-best 1,863 yards and 16 touchdowns. The 6’0”, 150 pounder added 1,278 rushing yards and 18 ground scores.

East Central placed 11 players on the All-EIAC team for 2017, the most of any team in the conference. Head coach Justin Roden was once again named the 4A Coach of the Year in the conference.

Lawrenceburg’s Ryan Knigga took the top coach honors in that division.

The complete EIAC All-Conference Teams are listed below:


Division 4A


East Central 3-0

Tanner Yocum (Defensive MVP)

Logan Storie

Hunter Getz

Justin Brown

Keegan Gindling

Jayden Williamson

Landon Foster

   Logan Moser   

Devon Donawerth

Alex Maxwell

Caden Browndyke


Franklin County 2-1

Mitchell Orschell (Offensive MVP)

Brady Bogan

James Tucker

Noah Hammond

Ashton Russell

Michael Bohman

Blake Jewell


Connersville 1-2

Donovan Foreman

Seth Bean


South Dearborn 0-3

Ethan Getz

Tristan Rinehart

Austin Terrill

Zach Dick

Kyle VanGuelpen

Owen Lunsford


Team Champs: East Central

   Coach: Justin Roden



Division 3A


Lawrenceburg 3-0

Mason Parris (Defensive MVP)

Hunter Privett

Gavin Yoon

Darin Ricketts

Eyan Peelman

Dawson Craig

Jonah Rolfes

   Jayden Isham


Batesville 2-1

Trey Heidlage (Offensive MVP)

Christian Prickel

Austin Siefert

Logan Mears

Josh Maple

Dennis Sweezey

   Cj Thomas

Adam Bedel

Jack Kellerman

Tyler Myers


Greensburg 1-2

Logan Shafer

Clint Lorenz

   Jesse Hunter

Aaron Black

   Luke Lozier


Rushville 0-3

Leland Joya

Cameron Craig


Team Champs: Lawrenceburg

Coach: Ryan Knigga