Post-Election Rundown: Siekman Out, Perfect Still In, Switz. Co Sheriff Defeated

Posted On May 07, 2014

By Mike Perleberg

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – Tuesday’s election results are 100 percent reported, albeit unofficial.

But most all races saw wide enough margins by the winners to be called. You can find full local results listed on Eagle 99.3’s Indiana Votes 2014 page.


Siekman’s U.S. Congress Bid Falls Short

Lane Siekman fell short in the Democrat primary for Indiana's 6th Congressional District Tuesday. file photo

Lane Siekman fell short in the Democrat primary for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District Tuesday.
file photo

A Rising Sun attorney missed out again on the Democrat party nomination for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District. Lane Siekman finished second in the voting for the 6th District with 30 percent of the vote. Susan Hall Heitzman, a retired educator from North Vernon, won the Democrat nomination with 48 percent.

Siekman, who also lost the primary in the 2012 election, received 77 percent support in his home county – Ohio County. Dearborn County Democrat ballots supported him with 58 percent and Switzerland County with 60 percent, but Heitzman’s numbers in most other counties making up the district proved too much to overcome.

“The County that Counts most to me. Ohio County Thanks for the support!” Siekman posted on his Facebook page Tuesday night.

Heitzman – she also ran for the 6th district in 2012 but was defeated in the primary – will face Republican incumbent congressman Luke Messer in the fall. Messer was unopposed in the primary.


Perfect, Raatz Earn GOP Nods For Indiana Senate


Chip Perfect (center) with State Senator Johnny Nugent (right) at Perfect’s campaign announcement last December.
file photo

Dearborn County’s Chip Perfect, the owner of Perfect North Slopes, won the Republican nomination for Senate District 43 with 49 percent of the vote. Ripley County’s Bill McDonald was second in that race with 27 percent and 27-year-old teacher Mark Schneider was third with 24 percent.

Perfect, who watched the results come in from the Dearborn County Republican victory party at Lawrenceburger restaurant, advances to the November general election against fellow Dearborn Countian Rudy Howard. Howard, of Aurora, was uncontested in Tuesday’s Democrat primary.

The winner of the general election will succeed longtime State Senator Johnny Nugent (R-Lawrenceburg) in representing District 43 in Indianapolis. Nugent announced his retirement in December and quickly endorsed Perfect.

In Indiana Senate District 27 – which is comprised of Randolph, Wayne, and Union counties as well as portions of Fayette, Franklin, and Dearborn counties – a political newcomer claimed the GOP nomination from among four candidates. Jeff Raatz won in a landslide over the other three with 48 percent of the vote.

Raatz will run against Dearborn County Democrat Party Chairman Jake Hoog, of Sunman, and Libertarian candidate Rex Bell, of Hagerstown, for District 27 on November 4. Hoog previously ran for the Indiana House in 2012, but lost to Republican State Rep. Jud McMillin.


Sheriff Races Galore In Southeast Indiana

There will be a new top lawman in at least three southeast Indiana counties next year.

In one of the few races in the region in which an incumbent was defeated, Switzerland County Sheriff Roy Leap was defeated in the Democrat primary by former sheriff Nathan Hughes, who had 55 percent of the vote. Hughes will face off with Republican winner Robert Stockmeier in the fall to determine who will be the next sheriff.

The busiest sheriffs races were in Ripley County. Jeff Cumberworth won the GOP primary from among three total candidates with 51 percent. Rob Bradley, who served as acting sheriff for a couple weeks following the retirement of Sheriff Tom Grills last month, was second in the voting. Cumberworth, an Indiana State Police trooper, will face Democrat winner Tim Sutton. Sutton, an officer with the Indiana State Excise Police living in Osgood, squashed Josh Thompson 84-to-16 percent.

In Ohio County, former Indiana State Police detective Glen Potts received just 17 more votes than second place finisher and deputy sheriff John Roberts for the Republican sheriff nomination. The total was 398 for Potts, 381 for Roberts, and 185 for Frank McIntosh. No word yet if there could be a recount with the difference being less than two percent of the vote. Assuming Potts advances, he will face former sheriff and Democrat Swede Colen in November. Colen was uncontested Tuesday. Current sheriff Eldon Fancher is term-limited.

Franklin County incumbent sheriff Ken Murphy won a three-way Republican race with 63 percent of the vote. Barry Bischoff was second with 19 percent and John Roberts, Jr. third with 18 percent. Murphy is currently uncontested in the November general election.


Few Surprises In County Contests

Aside from Leap in Switzerland County, the only incumbent for a county level position to be defeated in Tuesday’s primary was Franklin County District 1 Commissioner Scott McDonough. Former commissioner Eric Roberts, who was defeated by McDonough in 2010, returned the favor this year by winning the GOP primary 53-to-47 percent. Roberts and will have a chance to win back his old seat in the fall against former sheriff Dale Maxie, who won the Democrat nomination in District 1.

Incumbent Jeff Darling had 69 percent to win the Democrat primary for Switzerland County Council District 4 over Christopher See.

In Dearborn County, District 3 County Councilman Maynard Barrett won the Republican primary over Vickie Hon, 57 to 43 percent. Barrett will have the opportunity to earn re-election against Democrat Kevin Turner in November.

For Dearborn County Harrison Township Trustee, Denise Cottingham Bowling won the Republican nomination with 53 percent of the vote over Denny Winia. Winia’s chances might have been harmed by an April arrest for an alleged OWI in West Harrison.

In Ripley County, Robert Linville, of Osgood, won a four-way race for the Republican nomination for District 1 County Commissioner. Linville had 36 percent of the vote, but was just 34 votes ahead of Stan Wiedeman. Jay Gayheart was third in the voting with 15 percent and Bill Flannery was last at about 14 percent.

For Ripley County Council District 3, Chad Pindell took 61 percent of the vote to defeat David Simon in the Republican primary. There is currently no general election opponent for Pindell.

Franklin County District 2 Commissioner Tom Linkel can win re-election in November with his primary victory Tuesday over M.P. Allen, 67-to-33 percent. Linkel receives a challenge from Democrat Louis Fasbinder in the general election.

Also in Franklin County, Republican incumbent District 4 County Councilman Aaron M. Leffingwell defeated two challengers, Curtis Ward and Jimmy Webb, with 56 percent of the vote. Leffingwell will run against Democrat Carroll Lanning, who was uncontested on the Democrat ticket.


Ohio Voters Approve Levies, Public Works Amendment

Hamilton County voters are raising their taxes for important causes. The developmental disabilities services levy passed yesterday, 75-to-25 percent.

Police levies were approved in Colerain Township and Delhi Township.

Voters across Ohio passed Issue One, a constitutional amendment allowing the state government to sell bonds to fund public-works projects. It received 65 percent voter approval.