Pres. Signs Disaster Declaration For Six Counties

Posted On March 12, 2012

(Washington, D.C.) – President Obama has signed a major disaster declaration for six southern Indiana counties devastated by killer tornadoes a week and a half ago. 


Obama’s declaration is for Clark, Jefferson, Ripley, Scott, Warwick, and Washington counties. Last Thursday, Governor Mitch Daniels had sent a letter to the president requesting the assistance.


Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. 


Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. 


People can apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are available 24 hours a day.


Applications can also be submitted online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov.


FEMA representatives will also be at the Holton Community Building on Monday, March 12 and Tuesday, March 13 from 1:00-7:00 p.m. each day to assist applicants. Those representatives helped about 40 people apply on Sunday.




Gov. Requests Federal Aid For Six Counties


Tetanus Vaccine Clinic Friday In Holton


SDMS Sending School Supplies To Tornado Victims


Salvation Army In Holton Thurs., Fri.


Red Cross Opens Client Assistance Centers


Funeral Announced For Second Holton Victim


Rep. Frye to Host Disaster Relief Meeting


IDHS, FEMA Assess Holton Tornado Damage


Holton Tornado Donation Surge Continues


Funeral For Tornado Victim Tuesday


ISP Give Tornado Donation Tips


Tornado Cleanup Underway In Holton


NWS Confirms EF3 Tornado In Holton


IDHS Gives Latest On Tornado Response Efforts


US 50 Closed In Holton Saturday


Tornadoes: “It Hit Before We Knew It”