School Board Election Filing Period Ends; See Who’s Running

Posted On August 25, 2014

By Mike Perleberg

indiana-votes-2014-graphic-300px-01302014(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) – Your vote in November can have an impact on the direction of your local school district.

Friday, August 22 at noon was the deadline for school board candidates across Indiana to file their paperwork for the November election with their local county clerk’s office. With the cutoff date passing, school board races are now set.

School board races in Indiana are non-partisan, meaning no candidate runs under a particular political party.

Four incumbents are running essentially uncontested for school board positions with Lawrenceburg Community Schools. They are Bryan Johnson in District 1 Lawrenceburg City, Greg McAdams in District 2 Lawrenceburg Township, and Mark Knigga and Kevin Mollaun in District 2 Greendale where two will be elected this year.

South Dearborn Community Schools has three candidates running for each of two open seats. Helmer “Sy” Bryant, Angela Ferguson-Shepherd, and Amy Marie Hummel are running for the at-large board member. Jerry Hinkle II, Anthony Hummel, and Jeffrey Allen Lane are running for one spot in District 1 covering Ceaser Creek, Clay, Hogan, and Washington townships. Aurora city attorney Jeff E. Stratman is running unopposed for the third opening, Center Township.

At Sunman-Dearborn Schools, board president Jeff Lyness is not seeking re-election in District 5 covering Logan Township. Roll E. Hollowell and John Maxwell will appear on the ballot, with one filling Lyness’ board seat starting in January. The District 1 position representing Ripley County’s Adams Township is uncontested for incumbent Michael Norman. Dawn Disbro Burke is uncontested for District 6 covering Miller Township. No candidate filed for District 4 representing Kelso Township, a seat currently held by Glenn Scholl.

Indiana’s general election is Tuesday, November 4, 2014 and early absentee voting will begin October 7. Voters must be registered by Monday, October 6. To check on your voter registration status or to register, visit www.IndianaVoters.com.

Full school board races and the candidates in each district in Dearborn, Franklin, Ohio, Ripley and Switzerland counties are listed below.


Batesville Community Schools

District 1 – Wanita S. Linkel

District 4 – Stephen R. Stein, Robert D. Wagner


Franklin County Community Schools

District 5 At-Large (3 elected) – Sara Duffy (incumbent), Beth Foster, Bob Jewell (incumbent), Roy L. Kuntz, Brian Patterson, Kimber “Kim” Simonson (incumbent)


Jac-Cen-Del Community Schools

District 2 – Joyce Marie Muckerheide, Steve Wilhoit

District 4 – James “Jim” Westerman


Lawrenceburg Community Schools

District 1 Lawrenceburg City – H. Bryan Johnson (incumbent)

District 2 Greendale (2 elected) – Mark Knigga (incumbent), Kevin R. Mollaun (incumbent)

District 3 Lawrenceburg Township – Greg McAdams (incumbent)


Milan Community Schools

At-Large – Timothy W. Tuttle, Jeremy Vinup

Franklin Township – Greg Lewis

Washington Township – Michael E. Brandes, Randy Kirk, Amy Phillips


Rising Sun-Ohio County Community Schools

District 4 (2 elected) – Gary Kinnett, Tom McKay Sr., Pam Nowlin, Connie Smith, Pam Southard


South Dearborn Community Schools

At-Large – Helmer “Sy” Bryant, Angela M. Ferguson-Shepherd, Amy Marie Hummel

District 1 Caesar Creek, Clay, Hogan, Washington townships – Jerry Hinkle II, Anthony W. Hummel, Jeffrey Allen Lane

District 3 Center Township – Jeffrey E. Stratman


South Ripley Community Schools

District 1 – Becky A. Turner

District 2 – Tim Taylor

District 4 – John Cairns, Steve Patrick

District 5 – Robert Garcia


Sunman-Dearborn Community Schools

District 1 Adams Township Ripley County – Michael Norman (incumbent)

District 4 Kelso Township – no candidate filed

District 5 Logan Township – Roll E. Hollowell

District 6 Miller Township – Dawn Disbro Burke


Switzerland County Schools

Jefferson Township – Susan Jill Cord, Andy Truitt (incumbent)

Craig Township – Nancy Peters (incumbent), Kenny Briggs

Posey Township – Laurice See, Joe “Joey” Bennett