South Dearborn Middle School Inducts New Honors Society Students

Posted On May 23, 2016

By Mike Perleberg


Photo by South Dearborn Middle School.

(Aurora, Ind.) – Twenty-four students at South Dearborn Middle School have become members of the National Junior Honor Society.

The students were inducted to the society during a ceremony at the school on Thursday, May 19. They were chosen by a faculty council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship, and character both in the school and in the community.

The National Junior Honor Society, a program of the National Association of Secondary Schools Principals, ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for middle school students. South Dearborn Middle School’s chapter has been active for 19 years.

Throughout the year, members of the chapter serve as role models for other students. In addition to the strong academic records which establish their eligibility for membership, the chapter members are leaders in many student organizations and serve their school and community through many activities. They donate food to the Dearborn County Clearinghouse and adopt the highway in from of the school to help keep school pride high. This year, the NJHS chapter is focusing on academic excellence and social service.

The newest induction class includes Kaitlyn Baker, Riley Barth, Sydney Brandt, Kevin Brown, Benjamin Chapman, Ashlyn Charvat, Alexis Clark, Alexis Dittmer, Marissa Geiser, Justin Goins, Autumn Hoskins, Megan Howell, Madison Lewis, Kately McCreary, Eli Otto, Sydnee Pyles, Jorgia Quinlan, Rachel Rohe, Chloe Steigerwald, Jacob Teaney, Austin Thies, Katie Townsend, Carly Utter, and Madison Van Winkle.

Graduating 8th grade NJHS members at South Dearborn Middle School are also being recognized. They include Cassie Ashcraft, Alyssa Baker, Lukas Biehn, Savannah Clark, Madalynn Couch, Candice Curlin, Kasey Disbro, Jaelynn Gross, Emma Hobbs, Lily Hoppes, Erin Huber, Josie Hufford, Madison Hunter, Leah Kemper, Nicole Kreimer, Bryanna LaGreca, Jaelyn Lows, SheaAnn McCracken, Kerra Manor, Alexis Oberting, Lily Phelps, Alexis Qualters, Grace Quinlan, Brooke Rohe, Shelby Socks, Jace Sohmer, Reagan Stevenson, Caitlin Teaney, Jersey Tice, Jennifer Wullenweber, and Elizabeth Yelton.