Sunman-Dearborn Teacher, Treasurer Earn Top Distinctions

Posted On May 11, 2016

By Travis Thayer


(St. Leon, Ind.) – Two Sunman-Dearborn Community School Corporation employees have been honored for the excellent work.

The school corporation announced Wednesday that Ms. Brenda Osman and Ms. Mary Ann Baines have earned awards in their respective fields.

Ms. Osman was selected as the American Association of Family and Consumer Science (AAFCS) Indiana Teacher of the Year. By earning the distinction, she will be eligible for the National Teacher of the Year award.

AAFCS is a leading organization in the field of family and consumer sciences, working to increase the understanding and appreciation of the field among media, legislators, and the general public.

In addition, corporation treasurer Ms. Mary Ann Baines, has been selected as the Indiana Association of School Business Officials (IASBO) Region 10 Treasurer of the Year.

IASBO is an organization that strives for the promotion and advancement of those individuals involved in school business affairs such as finance, accounting, purchasing, maintenance and much more.